50 years of environmental campaigning with Lesley

Lesley has been involved in environmental campaigns and community groups in the North East for about 50 years. We caught up with her to find out more about her inspiring life.

Let’s start with ‘why’. Why have you devoted so much of your time and life to these environmental campaigns and community groups?

I’ve always been an “outdoors” person and cared about nature and wildlife, and I suppose that’s why I got involved. I studied for a degree in Geography and so (even then) learned a lot about the impact of humans on the environment.

Whilst I was working (mostly as a social worker, community worker and trainer) I didn’t have much time to get involved, although I was in a couple of Friends of the Earth groups (in one, we volunteered at the very new Centre for Alternative Technology, planting trees which have now grown tall). Then I became involved with Tyneside Anti-Nuclear Campaign, which was part of a (ultimately successful) campaign to prevent the building of a nuclear power station at Druridge Bay. In those days, climate change seemed a long way down the list, we were just starting to find out about it. Recycling was radical; we were unusual in our trips to the dump!

Fast forward 20 years or so to when I retired about 10 years ago and was much more aware of the threat of the climate emergency. I felt like this was how I wanted to use my time and energy (although I do have other bits of life too!) It seemed to me that the main problem was to get “ordinary” people to understand about climate change and the need to change how we live. Politicians and, even more, big business concerns have more power and more responsibility for the problem but they won’t take action if there aren’t votes or markets in it.

You helped to set up TWiG. What does it stand for and what does the group do?